Foundation Boards

Rhode Island Hospital

Contact Rhode Island Hospital Foundation

Rhode Island Hospital Foundation
PO Box H
Providence, RI 02901
Phone: 401-444-6500
Fax: 401-444-8235

About Our Foundation

The mission of the Rhode Island Hospital Foundation is to support excellent, compassionate, and state-of-the-art health care, education, and research through philanthropy, which is key to sustaining every great academic medical center.

The foundation’s board of trustees provide leadership, oversight, and direct assistance in implementing the Rhode Island Hospital Foundation’s purpose to “solicit and raise funds to further improve and advance the science or art of healthcare delivery and patient care and the knowledge, practice, and teaching of medicine and nursing … .”

The trustees advocate for the needs and missions of Rhode Island Hospital and its Hasbro Children’s Hospital, and devote their time and resources to supporting and advancing those initiatives.

Bolstering Lifespan Cancer Institute’s efforts to harness the power of the immune system to defeat deadly disease and helping to organize the Heroes Ball to benefit Hasbro Children’s Hospital Pain and Palliative Care Program for children with complex, chronic conditions are just two examples of how well-stewarded philanthropy improves lives.

As Anthony Calandrelli, a recent addition to the foundation board, said, “Rhode Island Hospital was built on a foundation of community support and it’s our collective responsibility to keep that going for future generations.”

Rhode Island Hospital Foundation Board of Trustees

Roger N. Begin

Elizabeth Huber
Vice Chair

Ellen A. Collis

Anthony Calandrelli

Margaret M. Van Bree, MHA, DrPH,
President, Rhode Island Hospital and
Hasbro Children’s Hospital

Lawrence A. Aubin Sr., ex-officio

Timothy J. Babineau, MD,
ex-officio, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lifespan

Sheryl Amaral

Mary Ellen Baker

Arthur A. Bert, MD

Elizabeth Burke Bryant

James L. Carr Jr.

Michael V. D’Ambra

Edwin G. Fischer, MD

Ralph V. Fleming Jr.

Kristen Haffenreffer

Dolph L. Johnson

Scott B. Laurans

Robert J. Manning

Joseph J. MarcAurele

Elizabeth J. Perik

James Procaccianti

Douglas E. Scala

Michael Zechmeister

Hasbro Children’s Hospital Advisory Council

Phyllis A. Dennery, MD, Co-chair

Roger Begin, Co-chair

Wayne Charness, Vice Chair

Lawrence A. Aubin Sr.

Timothy J. Babineau, MD

Eileen Howard Boone

Elizabeth Burke Bryant

Paul Busby

Jeanne S. Cohen

Karen Davis

Karen G. DelPonte, Esq.

Penelope Dennehy, MD

Bradford Dimeo

Deanna Donnelly

Renée Evangelista, Esq.

Dory Faxon

Samara Feldman

Patricia Flanagan, MD

Edwin Forman, MD

James Gilbane

Barbara Haynes

Robert B. Klein, MD

Samantha Lomow

Francois I. Luks, MD

Nicki Maher

Angela and Gary Moore

Stephen Olson

Kinnari Patel

James Procaccianti

Katina Robison, MD

Henry T. Sachs III, MD

Linda Snelling, MD

Catherine Solomon

Jaime Tasca

Alice Tisch

Margaret M. Van Bree, MHA, DrPH

Robert K. Vincent

Tracey Wallace

Kyle Wohlrab, MD

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors serve as ambassadors who assist the Rhode Island Hospital Foundation Board of Trustees in identifying and promoting philanthropic support and partnerships from individuals, families, corporations, and foundations, while educating others throughout the community.

Dr. and Mrs. Edward Akelman

Mr. Edward Almon

Joseph F. Amaral, MD

Mr. Frohman C. Anderson

Mr. Lawrence A. Aubin, Sr.

Marianne P. Barba, M.S., RN

Mr. Emanuel E. Barrows

Mr. and Mrs. Oliver H. Bennett

Mrs. Elizabeth Beretta Perik

Stanley P. and Marcia C. Blacher

Mr. Russell A. Boss

Mr. David A. Brown

Mr. and Mrs. Bernard V. Buonanno, III

Mr. Chris Buchanan

Mr. Edward W. Burman, Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. J. Scott Burns

Mr. Richard F. Carolan

Mr. Joseph M. Cianciolo

Michelle Collie, PT, DPT, MS, OCS

Mrs. Elfriede A. Collis

Francis A. Connor, Jr., DDS

William M. Corrao, MD

John J. Cronan, MD

Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Del Vecchio

Ronald A. DeLellis, MD

Mr. Frank DelSanto

Penelope H. Dennehy, MD

Mr. Joseph DiBattista

Mr. Enrico DiGregorio

Dr. Thomas M. Drew

David A. and Heidi Kirk Duffy

Michael G. Ehrlich, MD

Barbara Elson

Mr. Robert R. Faulkner

Mr. Brad J. Faxon, Jr.

Mr. Louis A. Fazzano

Mrs. Elaine M. Ferreira

Michael D. Fine, MD

Mr. Robert F. Fischer

Karen L. Furie, MD

Mrs. Joan I. Gelch

Mr. Thomas F. Gilbane, Jr.

Moses Goddard, MD

Richard J. Goldberg, MD

Mrs. Christine Griffin

Mr. David H. Haffenreffer

Ms. Kristen Haffenreffer

Mr. and Mrs. Michael L. Hanna

Mr. Alan G. Hassenfeld

Edward A. Iannuccilli, MD

Ms. Muriel E. Jobbers

Ms. Anne Marie Johnson

Mr. Michael W. Joukowsky

Mr. Judd B. Katzen

Boyd King

Mr. Scott B. Laurans

Mr. Donald A. Lopes

Mr. Joseph J. MarcAurele

Mr. Michael H. Mariner

Ms. Louise S. Mauran

Mrs. Virginia A. Mead

Mr. Edward G. Medeiros

Mr. Phillip Morin

Kate and Kevin Murphy

Mr. Paul C. Nicholson, Jr.

Ms. Trish O’Neil

Mr. Edward W. Pires

Mr. and Mrs. James A. Procaccianti

Mrs. Jane Ritson-Parsons

Mr. James V. Rosati

Mary F. Sadlier and Stephen Rosa

Mr. Douglas E. Scala

Barbara Schepps, MD

Mr. David D. Schuller

The Honorable Bruce M. Selya

Mr. Deming E. Sherman

Mr. Russell R. Shippee

Ms. Rosalyn K. Sinclair

Mr. Brian S. Snowden

Catherine and Joseph Solomon

Maureen Soutter

Mr. Michael J. Szostak

Mr. Thomas A. Tanury

Mr. Anthony Thomas, Jr.

Mr. Stephen Tortolani

Ms. Carol June Tow

Mrs. Lisa Van Allsburg

Mr. George A. Vecchione

Mr. Alfred J. Verrecchia

Arlene M. Violet, Esq.

Mr. Girard R. Visconti

Lorna Wayland

David E. Wazer, MD

Ms. Diane N. Weiss

Mr. David G. Whalen